So, what do you do when…

23/03/2006 § 6 Comments

…you look at the clock and realize it's getting way too late to really prepare the dinner you wanted to, but you have to do something before you give up and go to the nearest drive-thru?  

 

Heere eez dee recipee for success:

 

Traci's Mas Rapido Mash 

1 lb ground meat (turkey, beef, chicken…)

1 can corn

1 can beans (red, black, kidney, pinto…)

1c cooked rice per person (white, brown, instant, regular…)

1 jar taco sauce/salsa

Seasonings:cumin, cilantro, chili powder, black pepper (salt if you want to)

 

Brown meat with seasonings(to taste-we like a lot of flavor) in skillet. Add rinsed beans, corn and already prepared rice. (You can make the rice as you're browning the meat.) Warm all ingredients in skillet and add jar of taco sauce/salsa. Simmer until warm. Ready to serve in a few minutes and feeds about 4-6 people(?)!

(There are 3 of us and we each had seconds and there was some loft over.)

 

Now, the cool thing is that this recipe can be tailored to your family's preferences. For example: make it spicy, don't use beans, don't use meat, etc.

 

There's also adding more to it when you do have time to prepare: fresh peppers, onions, jalapeno, 2 different kinds of beans, etc.

 

 You can turn it into Taco Mash and put the whole thing on a shell and add your favorite condiments for taco night.

 

Go the salad route and fix your favorite greens in a bowl, add the Mash, top with black olives, sour cream, more salsa, etc.

 

I hope you and your family enjoy this. Tell me if you try it and let me know how it worked for you!

Vaya Con Dios!!!!

Traci 😉

§ 6 Responses to So, what do you do when…

  • dawilli says:

    You seem to have mastered the art of changing your font color… you can’t tell me that happened accidentaly!
    Welcome back to the blogosphere, it is therapeutic, isn’t it?

    love ya,
    ali

  • DandelionSeeds says:

    Please spread the word…

    In Him,
    Amy

  • momonajourney says:

    I dread this question, especially at 6 pm. when I really have no idea what the answer is! I’ll put your recipe into my recipe software.

  • Janne says:

    Oh that looks yummy! I am going to have to try it! (Hmmm…maybe this evening) 🙂

  • Titus2woman says:

    OH GOOD! I always love adding a new friend! Thanks for stopping by my blog~I’m looking forward to keeping up with ya! (((((HUGS))))) and this sounds GOOD! ~sandi

  • daybydaygrace says:

    We must have more in common than what you think, or I’ve had days like you one, needing a quick supper. I have that same recipe, I just add cheese, sour cream, and picante sauce to mine. I’ll be adding you to my friends list also. My DD would be more than happy to talk back & forth with your DD. Traci

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So, what do you do when… at .

meta

