Where, Oh where, has the time gone?

11/05/2006 § 6 Comments

Have I really been THAT busy for THAT long?! Wow. Maybe I should re-introduce myself?!LOL πŸ™‚

Things have been a whirlwind here lately. One thing I've been up to is I'm trying out new things for getting organized. The main one being-just do it! Boy is that expression easier said than done!

We moved some furniture around and we're getting our shelves where we want them so we can put our books on them for school. We have been running upstairs to the spare room where our classroom started and then back down to the dining room where it will be now. Our little home is coming along, albeit slowly, but it will be a lot easier now that we have some of the big things moved. My strong muscle man is always a help for his “dainty” wife.( If you only knew how hard it is to remember to ask for help! I have to practice it consciously! I was on my own for quite some time before he came around. It is hard to be dainty at all. I'm not a she- man or anything, I've just mostly been independent and physically strong. That and I am a 'healthy-sized' woman, shall we say? No one is worried about me floating away at the next strong breeze! LOL! πŸ™‚ 

Anyway…I have also been trying my hand at starting a flower bed in the front yard by our steps and in front of the picture window. I did not realize the work that was involved! The previous owner had some things planted in a sectioned off spot and it appears that she just kind of did a plant-and-run. Let's just say it hasn't been tended to in some time so I have been on my knees digging out dirt and roots and overgrown weeds. The other element to the task is that she had a rock bed under the picture window. It merrily goes around the side of the house by the chimney and stops at the gate to the back yard where it then finds itself again surrounding the air conditioning unit up to the deck that was built around the back stairs. *sigh*

 Now, many of you may know I love a good challenge.

 

To conquer and win is exhilirating! (I like the little trumpet blast I hear in my head! Dunt da-da dah!) 

 

However, in typical Traci fashion, I may have taken on a bit more than I actually cared to complete. I know, I know hard to believe, huh? So, being the energetic, enthusiastic, leap-and-then-look, visionary personality that I am, I got a picture in my mind of what I wanted. Simple enough, right? BUT, because of the energetic, enthusiastic, leap-and-then-look, visionary personality that I am, naturally–I ran with it.       

 

And THEN I counted the cost(mostly labor and time)-AFTER I got started.  

It's a good thing I have my Lovebug to help. Guess what we're doing for Science too? My name does have the word 'industrious' attached to it-along with the words warrior and noble. So mothers, be thoughtful in what you name your children. They may actually grow up to be what their names suggest! (My parents are not believers either-God certainly does have a plan for me/us, doesn't He?)

I must say I do deserve some credit for actually doing SOME initail planning. I carefully picked flower seeds according to sales, the height and planting instructions, color, perennial-ness and ease of care(of course-I want them to live). I even made sure they were plants that liked being in the sunny part of our front yard. Even when I surveyed the landscape spots I didn't think it was THAT bad. It couldn't possibly be THAT hard.

Well, I don't have pics to show you yet, but it is still a far cry from even being said that I made 'a dent in it'. I shall persevere none-the-less!

 

Do you have any gardening adventures/encouragement you'd like to share? I'd love to read them!

 

Blessings,

Traci πŸ™‚

§ 6 Responses to Where, Oh where, has the time gone?

  • TOSPUBLISHER says:

    I need to figure out how to plant some flowers. I heard of this “mat” you can buy. It comes all rolled up and is really long, like 20 feet. And then you unroll it, stick it right up near your house (like where a flower bed would go), and then you water it every day. Inside are 1000 seeds. In a few weeks you have flowers! Ever heard of anything like that?

    -gena

  • kleo30 says:

    Long time no see πŸ™‚ It’s nice to read your blog. Thanks for stopping by and your sweet comments….

    Did you have a great time at Olive Garden?

    Well, Doug called and said he’s on his way home! I can’t remember the last time he got home before I went to sleep πŸ™‚ So i’ll be off……Happy Gardening!

    ~Kelly

  • momonajourney says:

    Phew! You have been doing quite a lot! I’m worn out just reading about it! πŸ™‚ But, it’s the good kind of worn out – the kind that gives me a little push to get up and get something done myself! πŸ™‚ I haven’t been on reading any blogs in a while and it’s good to get on and see what you’ve been up to. Your site looks very nice. Good job!

  • DandelionSeeds says:

    Just stopping by to wish you a Happy Mother’s Day on Sunday! May you find true joy in your children and the blessing of motherhood.

    Praise God for allowing us such a wonderful, life changing experience as raising His children!

    In Him,
    Amy

  • daybydaygrace says:

    I forget to ask my dh for help too. I came by to say have a Blessed day!!!
    In Him, Traci

  • mamma1420 says:

    Hope you have a day filled with blessings, hugs and kisses!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where, Oh where, has the time gone? at .

meta

