Early Birthday Present For Lovebug

05/06/2006 § 5 Comments

Over the past few years or so Love has had 2 bikes. Nice ones. BRAND NEW ones. And they were both stolen. The first one, her dad's parents got her for Christmas. He stored it at his apartment in the cities and in true 'him' fashion, wasn't thinking, left it outside and it was stolen. The next bike was stolen when Love went to public school. It was locked up outside the front door in the bike rack w/a neighbors bike and was stolen in broad daylight. I think she had only had it a few months. That was last year or so. Since then she's been using mine. Now that it's summer I want to use it, so we have been watching the ads for a good sale. Well, this last week was our good sale moment at Target and we got her a new bike for an early Birthday present (her birthday's July 22nd). Of course she hasn't walked anywhere since then. She and Asa have biked over 12 miles a day! It's so sweet. It's starting to become 'their thing' to do when I'm at work in the evening.

I'll have to post some pics soon. It may be a while though. I have about 5 other rolls of film ahead of this one waiting to be developed! (a very typical thing for me)

I need to go digital!

 

We're still plugging away at studying for the CAT test and continuing to finish up a few things for 7th grade. We hope to start 8th grade in August. We will be schooling through the summer but much more scaled back. We still need our 'routines' so I have been working on a new 'daily routine' list for the summer months. We have lots of field trips and fun outdoor projects to do this year and they'll all count for something. Mostly Science I guess. We'll concentrate more on character building as well. I hope to do some 'Homemaking Skills' projects too. Probably in the areas of sewing and cooking, menu planning and the like. I'll try and lump etiquette in there somewhere too.

 

Well, lots to do. LOTS to do. Have a great day mothers!

 

Blessings,

Traci 🙂

§ 5 Responses to Early Birthday Present For Lovebug

  • trustingdaily says:

    So good to hear from you and then catch up with you here. Your blog is so pretty! You’ve been busy. The pictures of your little lovebug are so precious. She looks like she has a sweet spirit.

    Happy Summer~ Angela

  • dawilli says:

    Be thankful for the neighborhood you live in and the great riding area you have… otherwise read as- be thankful you don’t live on a major, busy highway like me… ugh… at least they put shoulders on it last summer! So I guess we could bike… if I wasn’t terrified of one of my kids getting hit by a semi… maybe not… we’ll tow the bikes to the path over in North Branch every so often…
    Well, enjoy the sun, check out my blog- the pics and sound clip from Jaron’s baptism are up!
    later,
    ali

  • mamma1420 says:

    I really don’t have much to add, I came, I read, and now I’m commenting so that you know I was here reading. Isn’t it nice to know that people are reading? I hope you’re having a good week!
    Visiting my friends,
    Jessica

  • barbieheart says:

    We just bought new bikes for dd13 and ds11. Like Lovebug, they haven’t used their feet since. And I don’t lack for anything I need–three times a day, it’s, “do you need anything from the store, Mom? I’ll go get it for you!”

    Love the freedom that a bicycle brings.

  • dawilli says:

    Okay, it’s been a whole week… where’ve you been?! It’s time to come up for air and sit down and blog a while!
    Hope all is well,
    ali

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Early Birthday Present For Lovebug at .

meta

