Today is…

27/06/2006 § 4 Comments

…kind of an odd day. This week has been really hard-and it’s only Tuesday!

Today is Asa’s great-uncle Bob’s funeral. I didn’t know Uncle Bob very well, but he is still family and I see how it’s affecting Asa’a family and it’s sad. Then, my sister called me this morning to wish me a Happy Birthday, and to also let me know…her mother-in-law is in the hospital w/pneumonia, emphazema, blood clotting and a tumor on her lung. She has always been a heavy smoker, so it’s not a shock, but it is.

Now, my sister’s mother-in-law is pretty much my aunt. I have known her and her husband and kids all of my life. Literally. She and my mom have been friends since they were like 8 years old. It wasn’t until us kids were older that we found out her kids weren’t our cousins and that we weren’t related! My sister even married her son! They’ve just always been there. That is a little harder to take. My family is emotionally unstable at times and this is really affecting them. Even though there have been rifts and chasms over the years, these last few years have kind of brought about some reconciliation and closer-ness. I hope I have the strength to be a light to them. I’m usually the first person they call when things are hard or bad. (a blessing, a curse?) I pray I have the words to say and the boldness to say them!

 

Anyway, I’m not sure how I’m processing this yet. I’m not depressed or anything, but I am sad. We know that uncle Bob was a believer, we will see him again in Heaven. But my aunt, I’m not so sure. I know she knows God and has been involved with the Lutheran church and believes a lot of the ‘right stuff’ but I don’t know how far that goes. To be honest, I don’t see a whole lot of good fruit coming from her life. None that would lead me to believe she was a true believer who just had some struggles but relied on God for the answers. You can know God personally and not know His power though. My great-grandmother had a personal relationship w/the Lord but never walked in complete victory. There were a lot of painful and emotional things she never gave up to the Lord and held onto, but she knew Him. She loved Him, and you could tell. For that matter there are things I still hold onto and haven’t completely submitted to the Lord, but I love Him with all of my being, and you can tell. You just can’t tell with my aunt. I just pray that if this is her time to meet the Lord, that she will truly meet Him in Heaven and not bypass Him on her way to Hell.

 

It’s sobering. Very sobering indeed… 

 

I think I’ll still put up the birthday post idea I have. It might not be until tomorrow though. We’ll be busy with family. If those of you who read this could be praying for my family that would be great. Thanks.

 

Blessings,

Traci  🙂

§ 4 Responses to Today is…

  • dawilli says:

    I know you’re no stranger to hard days, you’ll get through this just like you’ve gotten through every other one, one moment at a time…
    We all feel weak and drained at times, especially hard times, but you’re stonger than you think- look how far you’ve come…
    Praying for you guys,
    ali

  • mamma1420 says:

    I have to say it took me a few minutes (and I mean minutes) to understand the whole sister’s mother in law, mother’s friend, aunt thing. I’m just back from vacation (visiting my family) and stopped to visit. I’m sorry about the illnesses, I will be praying.

    On another note:
    HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! May your day be filled with blessings both old and new! I always get nostaglic (sp?) on my birthday, where’s the time gone?

    Also:
    Your blog looks great! I see you’ve tinkered a little more. The pictures are wonderful. Traci, you’ve done a great job. I hope your birthday goes well…

    God Bless You,
    Jessica

  • Canadagirl says:

    Lord ,
    I pray for your comfort for this family. I pray for the openness of this woman who needs you for her very essence. I pray that you help our sweet sister in Christ to be a witness in this family. Oh come Holy Spirit. You know Lord what is needed here and I pray you answer the prayers that are lifted up in this situation. These things we pray, In your name Jesus.
    Thank you , Amen

  • barbieheart says:

    Praying for strength for you and your husband in this time. Also that God will give you His grace to impart to your family, and His wisdom to come through your words.

    Blessings,
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Today is… at .

meta

