Back On Track!

30/06/2006 § 9 Comments

I wanted to make sure I posted about my Birthday Day adventure seeing as though it was so rudely taken from me by the ugly computer monster! Looking back I can see how things could have just spiraled out of control and put me in a 3 day depression, but God…

All the years of yeilding and prayer and trials and failures and trying again and all the gritty stuff of walking out my faith have actually brought me to a place where I can be victorious. Even if it’s only half-way victorious, it’s still a lot more victorious than I’ve ever walked before! I am so humbled by and grateful to the Lord for His hand on and in my life over these last several years. If only you knew me then…You REALLY wouldn’t believe what you’re seeing now! I am truly a new creature, a changed vessel in the Master’s hands. And I owe it ALL to JESUS! Thank you my sweet Lord Jesus!

Thank you.

 

So on Tuesday it was my 32nd birthday.   

 

I have to admit, I didn’t notice a difference. I still feel and look like I’m 25 or at least 27 or so. My sweet Asa came home from work and told us to get dressed–nice. (oooo goodie, goodie! I love dressing up!)

We then went to secret destination #1!

He and Lovebug brought me to the Olive Garden for dinner!    

We had a wonderful meal (I had the Mediterranean Shrimp Scampi-mmmm!) and then Asa and Love both gave me a little gift bag. (yay! I love gifts!)

They bought me a new shirt and skirt! I couldn’t believe it! He got the right size and everything! The top is a pretty medium blue (I have dark blue eyes so it really brings out their color) and the skirt has 3-tone blue diagonal stripes (I have short legs so the stripes distract and confuse the viewer, making me appear taller) and is made out of linen! (I just love linen too!) Boy do my sweeties know me! (I have such an awful, old, drab and limited wardrobe. I have been trying to find nice, feminine things to beef it up with. So this gift was PERFECT!)

 

After we stuffed ourselves (I was sure glad I was wearing my trusty control-tops!) we then headed to secret destination #2. It turned out to be his folks house where his family and a few friends were waiting for us! He had called a few friends who live close by to come over and surprise me! What a thoughtful man! I was really having a hard time shaking off the monthly blues that day but by then, it was a lot easier to find my smile! I got a new coffee mug, a card game and CHOCOLATE! We also had an ice cream cake from DQ (tra-ditioooon! tradition!). Asa had them write Happy B-day Traci w/that gel stuff. I am sooooo loved and blessed! They prayed a blessing over me for my special day and thanked the Lord for me. They also prayed for an even better coming year. Needless to say, I needed a tissue! (actually several…OK, ok, the whole box-but no one was counting! Besides, they already know that about me. I have my own box!)

 

So even though we had great uncle Bob’s funeral, my aunt was rushed to the ICU for blood clotting, emphysema and a mass on her esophagus, my mother never called to wish me a Happy Birthday, I lost my great blog post and I was fighting depression, I ended up having a good day!

 

Blessings,

Traci 🙂

§ 9 Responses to Back On Track!

  • ServingHim says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m glad it was a special one for you 🙂

    Elaine <

  • vibrantfaith says:

    Thanks for all your sweet comments on my blog and thanks so much for your prayers for us.
    Bless you extra special on your birthday. So glad you have people around you to help you celebrate. The more I live, the more I realize that relationships are the most prized things about life.
    Julie

  • KyMentor says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful day! I am sad about all your extended family’s health problems, but will keep you all in our thoughts and prayers.

    Sandie

  • dawilli says:

    How fun! You have such a great DH! I’ve never had a surprise party, or my name on a cake! Frankly, I don’t know how well I would handle a surprise party, but the ideas sounds fun! And the Olive Garden, well, that’s just about the best eats in the greater twin-cities metro area… did you remember to ask for more bread sticks shortly before finishing so there’d be some to take home?!
    Glad your bummer day turned into such a wonderful night, the Lord is good, too good to us!
    see ya,
    ali

  • nitrocat says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when God’s amazing grace turns our Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day into something special?
    My sympathies on all your families struggles. And also on losing your post. I have taken to typing in Word and then pasting into my blog. That way I have my spell check and grammar check too!
    Continued prayer for you!
    Stacy

  • Canadagirl says:

    HAPPY B-LATED BIRTHDAY!!! and…..
    a ….HAPPY CANADA DAY! ( I will come by on the 4th too and wish you a good one then)

    In Him,
    -Canadagirl

  • trustingdaily says:

    Oh my goodness Traci, I’m so sorry I haven’t been around to see that you had a birthday this week! Happy Belated Birthday!! What a sweet and thoughtful hubby you have! And no, when I turned 30 and the “after years” I didn’t feel anything either, HOWEVER, 40 is a different story entirely!! =)

    Hope you’ve had a blessed week! ~Angela

  • mamma1420 says:

    I’ve been praying for you lately! You are very blessed! Next time you’re feeling blue, let me know and I’ll do my best to cheer you up…
    Love Jessica

  • hskubes says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! *Ü*
    What a blessing of a day it was.
    God always knows just what we need.

    I wanted to say thank you so much for commenting on my blog.
    I appreciate what you said.

    Have a blessed holiday weekend.
    ~ Christina
    HsKubes HomeSchool Haven
    HsKubes Haven for Home
    Christian Military HomeSchool Mamas

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back On Track! at .

meta