I love this Hymn!

01/12/2006 § 5 Comments

***UPDATE***

Please follow the link to my new blog:I’ll Take Tea . I’m looking forward to your visit!

There are so many great hymns that just speak to my heart. One of my favorites is ‘A Christian Home’. If you go to this link here you can listen as my great friend Ali, her sister and their husbands sing it as a quartet. They sung this on the day their 2nd son was baptized and boy was it powerful and sweet!

 

Oh Lord, may this be the  cry of our hearts and the endeavor of our lives: to have You be the center of our homes, the center of our hearts, the center of our minds and the center of our worlds. In all that we say and do, may You and Your Son be glorified! In Jesus’ precious name I pray, Amen.

 

(you can right click on the link and open a new window to read the words as you listen.)

 

A Christian Home
O give us homes built firm upon the Savior,
Where Christ is Head and Counselor and Guide;
Where every child is taught His love and favor
And gives his heart to Christ, the crucified:
How sweet to know that tho his footsteps waver
His faithful Lord is walking by his side!

O give us homes with godly fathers, mothers,
Who always place their hope and trust in Him;
Whose tender patience turmoil never bothers,
Whose calm and courage trouble cannot dim;
A home where each finds joy in serving others,
And love still shines, tho days be dark and grim.

O give us homes where Christ is Lord and Master,
The Bible read, the precious hymns still sung;
Where prayer comes first in peace or in disaster,
And praise is natural speech to every tongue;
Where mountains move before a faith that’s vaster,
And Christ sufficient is for old and young.

O Lord, our God, our homes are Thine forever!
We trust to Thee their problems, toil, and care;
Their bonds of love no enemy can sever
If Thou art always Lord and Master there:
Be Thou the center of our least endeavor-
Be Thou our Guest, our hearts and homes to share.


 ***UPDATE***

Please follow the link to my new blog: I’ll Take Tea . I’m looking forward to your visit!

 

Blessings,

Traci  🙂

§ 5 Responses to I love this Hymn!

  • drewsfamilytx says:

    Hi Traci!

    You are one of ZE WINNERS of my contest! Please e-mail me your addy and I’ll get your prize to ya right away.

    You know, I don’t think I’ve heard that song before. But it does remind me of singing with my sisters and brother. We ALWAYS sing at church whenever we’re together– a rarity since we’re all married and live in different parts of the country. *sigh* But I LOVE harmony and singing a cappella. Too bad I’m not talented enough to do the harmony/alto parts…I can sing a mean soprano, but melody is always easiest, don’t ya think?

    Anyhow, hope you have a fabulous weekend!

    Love,
    Marsha

  • Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much for posting this song. It's my favourite hymn as well, and I can't seem to find it anywhere. God bless you.

  • Anonymous says:

    Traci,

    Thank you for posting A Christian Home. It's my favorite hymn. What a blessing it was to come accoss.

    Bret

  • Dave in Lemoore, California says:

    My Wife and I had this sung at our wedding 20 and a half years ago and I have used it to preach sermons from on both Mother's Day and Father's Day. You can find this old hymn on page 502 of Hymns of Glorious Praise Copyright 1969 by Gospel Publishing House, Springfield, Missouri

  • Anonymous says:

    We sang this hymn in our church service this morning and it really touched me. My mom sent me a poem for my 21st birthday by Rudyard Kipling titled "If". With the hymn and the poem I had a very blessed birthday.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love this Hymn! at .

meta

