It's time for 'Musical Mondays'!

12/12/2006 § 2 Comments

Now that we actually have something going on on Mondays other than the usual let’s-get-organized-and-motivated-and-start-our-week I am hoping to post a little more consistantly. Yesterday we started Love on the violin and she’ll be playing and practicing w/a Homeschool orchestra nearby. My great friend Ali has been doing this and we are joining the same group she is in. We are very excited about this new adventure! There will be fun things to learn, new friends to make and old friends to grow with.

I have always enjoyed music. At the tender age of 11 I picked up a flute and have barely parted with it since. We had been estranged for a while, but I have recently picked it back up so I can play at church. I was in concert band, marching band, pep band, pit band and any other band environment I could find. I knew as I got older that I wanted to share my love of music with my children.

We usually have music playing in the backround as we go through our day. We even have it on in the car as we travel so Love has been exposed to a lot over the years. She even has a ‘music lesson’ on cd-rom, Music Ace Deluxe that she has learned a lot of the fundementals of the technicalities behind music, i.e. the staffs, keeping a beat, rythym, reading notes, etc. It is a wonderful program and I highly recommend it. It is very engaging and fun too so she is rarely bored. Also, it only advances to the next level after sufficient mastery of the lesson (a very good thing). I got it from the Timberdoodle catalog, one of my favorites.

So, I hope to be posting more frequent and I’ll probably throw in some fact, find or favorite concerning music. Stay tuned for more and hopefully some pics of Love’s first day!

Blessings,

Traci 🙂

 

§ 2 Responses to It's time for 'Musical Mondays'!

  • dawilli says:

    It was fun to have you guys there on Monday. I know she'll catch on fast- keep her practicing!
    Fun, fun, fun… then you'll need to get another violin so you guys can play together! Let the real fun begin!
    (although flute & violin duets are beautiful!)
    love ya,
    ali

  • mistresninos says:

    Thanks for the review. I've been looking at this for a while. Maybe I'll get it next year.

    Sara
    https://mom24bbs.wordpress.com/
    (You did ask for my address again, right? Hope it was you. *blush*.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It's time for 'Musical Mondays'! at .

meta

