Musical Mondays

19/12/2006 § 3 Comments

Kayla has been making wonderful strides playing her violin! Here are a few pics from last week’s first practice w/her student teacher. I am so proud of my Princess! She is really taking to learning an instrument and having fun with it. She is still mostly enthusiastic about practicing when we get home too!

I remember when I started learning to play the flute, there was a void in my life that I filled with practicing. Not to mention a heavy perfectionist bent. It feels really good to realize that she doesn’t seem to have that same void, which may be a bit more challenging to keep her on task, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything! It helps that she knows more notes and has music to practice now, I think it will be fine. She’s kind of like her mother in the way of wanting to be proficient in something automatically, right after you pick it up or decide you want to do some thing. Then, when the revelation of it being work kicks in, you’re not as sure about this new thing anymore. I’m pleased to say I am much more realistic about things now!

Enjoy the pics!

 Putting markers on for finger placement

A close up of ‘bowing on open strings’

And now, practicing together!

She has 2 weeks off now for the holidays and I hope to keep her practicing every day. We’re trying to come up with an incentive chart to help her get into the habit of practicing every day. Any suggestions? Money seems to get a response…maybe in a jar on the counter so she can see it and then take away twice what she earned from it when she doesn’t do it? You know, make it sting a little. Is that too harsh? Candy isn’t really a big thing around here so I’m leaning away from that. Hmmmm…I’ll have to keep pondering that one…

 

Blessings,

Traci 🙂

§ 3 Responses to Musical Mondays

  • dawilli says:

    Harsh? yep… but it's good for 'em!
    I like stiff incentives… an incentive to do the right thing and a definite negative incentive not to NOT do it…
    We've tried so many incentive variations! Kids need motivation, I've learned it doesn't come naturally!
    ali

  • strivingforproverbs31 says:

    My daughter, 8, has been playing for a year now and loves it. An incentive? Play before you eat? 🙂 Michelle

  • Happyhome says:

    I enjoyed the pics of your daughter and her violin. Our youngest son is receiving a violin for Christmas and will begin lessons in January. He has been wanting to play for awhile, but I am wondering too at how to keep him motivated…he's just five.

    Merry Christmas!

    Angela

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musical Mondays at .

meta

