Homeschool Co-op Day-The Silk Road

27/02/2007 § 2 Comments

Sometimes I think I’m in a dream. Is it really legal to have this much fun homeschoolong?! I am a very blessed woman to be able to homeschool AND I get to co-op with my best friend in real life!!! Somebody pinch me! When I first started this adventure, you would’ve had a hard time convincing me it would be this fun and rewarding. I was such a deer in headlights. I’m surprised we’ve made it this long. And I even think Kayla’s learned a few things along the way!

Using the books The Silk Route:7,000 miles of History by John S Major and Marco Polo:A Journey through China by Fiona MacDonald, we had our own version of what it was like to be in a caravan travelling on The Silk Road. Our journey starts in the Taklamakan Desert.  The real starting point was Chang’an, a major city during the Tang Dynasty southwest of present day Beijing. Some other places we travelled through were the Gobi Desert, Lo-Yang-Shih and down the Yellow River to Peking(Beijing).

Check some of the fun pics we took on Ali’s Blog.

We also had fun with spices. We talked about their importance, where they came from and why people wanted them and were willing to go to such great lengths to get them. Then we blind folded eachother and tried to guess which spices we were smelling!

hey, where’s your blind fold? no cheating girls!

way to use that nose Ali! 6 out of 10!

and the winner, with 9 out of 10….traci! who knew?

(i’m not sure yet if that’s a cool thing or just plain weird!)

Another successful day of co-opping on the books! YAY!  

blessings,

traci  πŸ™‚

§ 2 Responses to Homeschool Co-op Day-The Silk Road

  • drewsfamilytx says:

    Hi Traci! Thanks for stopping by my little corner of cyberspace.

    You are definitely one very blessed lucky-ducky to have such a fun and close friend to co-op with! It looks like y'all had a blast and that everyone learned stuff that will actually "stick". πŸ™‚

    Hmmm…I wonder if my bf in real life would want to co-op something together…or maybe we could trade. I think I'd get the easy end though, she has a very sweet little girl (one!) and I have three very different and very rowdy boys!

    Hope you have a great week!

    Love,
    Marsha

  • Anonymous says:

    Hi Traci
    I love that feeling of when homeschool is running so smoothly and the learning is good! I know what you mean!
    I can see much learning took place…. including a heap load of fun!
    Love Fee
    http://www.gibbonsfunschool.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homeschool Co-op Day-The Silk Road at .

meta

