We're Sprouting Plants!

03/04/2007 § 2 Comments

A few weeks back for Botany class we planted a few different types of seeds. We have these clear tubes that we planted a radish, carrot and onion to watch the growth of their roots. So far we have a radish and an onion. The carrot was a casualty of my clumsiness so we’ll have to replant that one. We also have 4 green bean plants that are growing very fast and a few tomatoe plants that are about 2 inches tall already. I made an ‘Observation Data Sheet’ to track the plants progress and we will be drawing pictures at different stages of the plants growth for our notebooking. So far we are doing ok with remembering to chart. It is hard to get used to even though we check on them every morning for any signs of change. Honestly, I think partly it’s laziness. It’s so much easier to just check on the plants and walk away!  We’ll get the hang of it…

Another project is getting more soil into the big wash tubs we got from grandma. We’ll attempt a mini-garden while the weather is still trying to figure out what it wants to do. We have two so I may have flowers in one and some veggies in the other. That will also give us time to dig out all the rocks in the backyard to clear a spot for a real garden! I’m very excited about that. This is my first yard since I moved out of my parents home a LONG time ago and I’ll finally be able to garden! I will be able to plant flowers and anything I want. It’s ALL MINE!!! It’s such a sweet blessing. I thank the Lord OFTEN for all the blessings He has bestowed upon me. It’s been a long time waiting for some of my dreams to come true, but oh was it worth the wait! The Lord’s timing is perfect and His gifts are ALWAYS better than anything we can make happen ourselves. I am learning to just relax and not put my hands and plans into everything. Trust me, that is MUCH easier said than done sometimes!

 

blessings to you and yours,

traci  🙂

 

 

§ 2 Responses to We're Sprouting Plants!

  • Anonymous says:

    It is a blessing to have a yard, isn't it. We'll get the garden space cleaned out as soon as possible. Then we can get some real veggies growing. -Your DH

  • Janne says:

    Wishing you a very happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We're Sprouting Plants! at .

meta

