It's Fresh Produce Time!

07/06/2007 § 5 Comments

Oh am I excited! Bob’s Produce Ranch just opened up across the River from us (right next to a new Dunn Brothers Coffee Shop) and I raided it. I got TONS of fresh produce for meals that will hopefully last the week. They have such a variety and most of it is pick-out-your-own. I got a pound of strawberries and some rhubarb stalks for a pie I want to attempt. Hopefully I can make jelly with any leftovers. I love rhubarb and have great childhood memories of going over to the neighbors with a dish of sugar and eating it out of their patch! I love the zingyness of it. It’s making my mouth water just writing about it!

I also got a few HUGE apricots, nectarines, pears, peaches, raspberries, apples, lettuce, HUGE MN homegrown tomatoes, scallions, potatoes, cukes…and a lot more! I’m tellin’ ya, I took a little bit of everything home and I spent hardly anything comparatively. They have a butcher shop, a bakery and a deli too. I got some fresh natural chicken breasts and a couple leg/thigh pieces (89 cents/lb!) and ground turkey. We grilled the legs/thighs with a little garlic, lemon and dill. It was accompanied by some fresh steamed green beans and Pink Lady apple slices w/caramel dip! Oh we are gonna eat well this summer!

There were so many goodies to be had and I spent well under my budget. Now that’s a good shopping day!

🙂

§ 5 Responses to It's Fresh Produce Time!

  • drewsfamilytx says:

    Sounds delicious! (and healthy too)

    I just love this time of year when neighbors and friends from church are unloading the bounty from their gardens!

  • christlike says:

    Hi Traci!
    Thats a beautiful picture of fruits & veggies. At our house we have to hide them or watch them carefully as our DS7 will eat them like candy. She greatly loves tomatoes, corn & greens of any kind.
    Got to go. May God bless you & your family!!!
    In Him; Elton

  • barbieheart says:

    I tagged you over at my place! Go check it out.

  • JenIG says:

    now *that* sounds like a nice way to spend the day! yummy!

  • daybydaygrace says:

    We all are missing you. Blessings, Traci

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It's Fresh Produce Time! at .

meta

