Kitchen Duty

24/01/2008 § 2 Comments

So, today I occupied my day with cleaning out the cupbaords and rearranging them. Oh does it feel nice to declutter and organize! I wouldn’t say all things are in there ‘final’ spots, but they are much closer than before. Ahhhhhhh….. 

One of the things that prompted this (besides trying to overcome my ‘I’ve-been-meaning-to-do-that’ syndrome) was the fact that we, as a couple, not only decided on a dinnerware set we liked (see above pic) but we actually went out and were able to buy it! The whole set of them! Dinner plates, salad plates, creal bowls, coffee cups and…and they all match! This great color goes so well with my newly painted kitchen (pink cupboards and green walls w/antique white trim). They also match the pink accent pieces I’ve been finding too. Think Depression Era pink and green glass and you’ll have the colors I chose to use in my kitchen/dining room. Along with chrome and dark brown woods. I’m trying to keep with the 1950’s look of the house (built in 1954). Oh it is coming together so nicely! I never in a million years, nor anyone else who knows me, would have thought I could atually decorate something that looks pretty good and isn’t plaid and polka-dots! I was never known for being fashionable or having any sense of style. Ecclectic to the eye-sore extreme was me. I thank the Lord for how far I’ve come!

I know in the grand scheme of life it doesn’t matter, but there’s something about having a few ‘luxuries’ like matching dishes. I am usually pretty thrifty and am not looking to store up treasures here on Earth, but I really like having some nice, new things. I usually scour the clearance aisles and racks looking for things we need and how awesome was it that the set was on sale too! I really like pretty things now, so it’s fun when I can have a few pretty things of my own. I feel so very blessed!

§ 2 Responses to Kitchen Duty

  • drewsfamilytx says:

    Oooo… great dishes! I LOVE the color!

    I have an orange (well, pumpkin spice to be exact) kitchen with stainless steel and dark brown open shelving. I'm usually a plain white dishes kind of girl since I think food looks best on a white plate. But when I look on the shelf, it seems so… blah. Maybe I should scout around for some dishes in a pretty color too.

    But when it gets warmer. It is too cold to be galavanting around right now! But tomorrow is another day. 😉

  • momonajourney says:

    Love the photo. Inspires me to make something pretty!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kitchen Duty at .

meta

