Yes, I Hear You Lord

22/01/2010 § 4 Comments

The other day I wasn’t exactly responding in a patient and loving way. It was actually the extreme polar opposite. *sigh*

My anger has a mind of it’s own at times and I am so grateful to the Lord that when it decides to decide for itself to not be subject to self-control that those incidences are spaced out much further apart than ever before in my life, however, they still occur. (Not an easy habit to change when you’re a master.) *sigh*

So I was upset, I slammed something, I yelled…rather loudly… *sigh*

THIS TIME, I stood in the (messy, grrrrrr) kitchen, alone, breathing deeply, pacing, praying under my breath, trying to collect myself so things didn’t continue to escalate, breathing deeply again, holding back tears, another prayer falling from my lips…then I saw it (on the dirty, cluttered baker’s rack, grrrrrr).

Do you see it? By the blender? Let’s get closer…

There it is. The not-taken-care-of fortune cookie paper from a few weeks ago when we last had Chinese sitting inches from the garbage can it was supposed to be introduced to. Can you read what it says? No? Here, let’s get even closer cause this is good…

Ouch.
Oh man.
WoW.
Huh.
Hmmmmmmm….
*sigh*

Yes, I hear You Lord.
I’m a success all right, but not the kind that is honoring to You. 
You are far, far too good to me. 

“Love? Please come here and sit on the couch by me so we can talk.”
“I’m so sorry, will you please forgive me?”
“Let’s work together with the Lord and make this house a home.”
“I’ll teach you as the Lord teaches me and we will bring honor to the Lord and He will be glorified.”
“I love you too my sweetie and I’m so grateful the Lord gave you to me. Now let’s clean something!”

I don’t know if it was all just a ‘coincidence’. We always read those things, laugh at their absurdity and throw them away. Our trust and hope is in the Lord, not the things of man or silly made-up ‘fortunes’.

Even so, I am choosing to use this situation in my life to be strengthened and encouraged to continue on in my journey. After all, it wouldn’t exactly be the first time the Lord used something ‘foolish’ or ‘inferior’ to get something through one of His kids’ thick heads now would it?

~traci

§ 4 Responses to Yes, I Hear You Lord

  • Alison says:

    Sweet. Keep up the most excellent work.In Him-ali

  • Amanda says:

    So beautiful…and such a sweet moment between you and the King.Blessings-Amanda

  • Traci,This is beautiful. It's amazing how God gives us messages! Thank you for finding me and sending me an e-mail. Great to meet another MN blogger! By the way, I've always been a big coffee drinker, but finally, after years of trying, have become a tea drinker! Maybe we could meet for a cup sometime. 🙂

  • Denise says:

    Thanks for following on twitter! It's great to "meet" you!! What a great post this was..God uses ALL ways to get our attention. I voted in your poll…I am a die hard TEA drinker. Just finished my afternoon cup of chai tea. LOVE IT! What's your favorite?I just got an electric kettle for Valentine's day…and WOW….didn't know what I was missing. It really makes my life SO much easier!! It's heaven for a tea drinker. Mine was a lesser expensive one so I don't know how long it will last (only $25 on sale vs. $33. Best gift I've had in awhile.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yes, I Hear You Lord at .

meta

