O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus

11/04/2010 § 1 Comment

When I wrote my last post, “For the Beloved”, I originally had something else written for the closing. As I was praying about how the Lord wanted me to finish, I came across this hymn and felt the Lord wanted me to share the words. I wasn’t even completely convinced it flowed but I knew the Lord had put this on my heart, I needed to obey.

As I researched the song and found recordings of it, I listened and was moved deeply. I received a couple of emails telling me how much sharing the words meant to the readers. I want to be a blessing to God’s people so I have decided to post this hymn again so others can actually hear the song. I pray as you listen the Lord will minister to you in a deep, special way. As you commune with Him, may He meet you where you are, enfold you in His peace and shower His loving kindness upon you.

Here is an excerpt from the book “Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1” by Robert J Morgan (which I highly recommend) about the author of the words to this hymn, Samuel Trevor Francis:
“One day, as he later wrote, “I was on my way home from work and had to cross Hungerford Bridge to the south of the Thames. During the winter’s night of wind and rain and in the loneliness of that walk, I cried to God to have mercy on me. I stayed for a moment to look at the waters flowing under the bridge, and the temptation was whispered to me: ‘Make an end of all this misery.’ I drew back from the evil thought, and suddenly a message was borne into my very soul: ‘You do believe in the Lord Jesus Christ?’ I at once answered, ‘I do believe,’ and I put my whole trust in Him as my Savior.”

“For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”   ~Romans 8:38-39
(this is the scripture reference Morgan gives for this entry)


~traci

§ One Response to O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus at .

meta

