For The Beloved

06/08/2010 § Leave a comment

Beloved,
Today you will find me in the kitchen, bedecked with my red and white gingham apron, ruffle trimmed. The harvest is coming in and we are buzzing around making sure nothing goes to waste. If you listen carefully you will most likely hear the unmistakable sound of my camera’s shutter, snapping photos to preserve moments in time, memories that will be reminisced about for years to come.

Beside me is my shadow, I’m beaming as I call her daughter. The fine art of passing on life skills to my precious inheritance is a never ending joy. We bump into each other, a “Whoa!” is exclaimed, nearly spilling, catching it all and giggling at the ‘close call’. These are the moments that make my mother’s heart swell. A small quiver of lip and a deep held breath holds back the wanting to blubber bittersweet tears. I audibly thank the Lord for His merciful hand and abundant blessings, she hears and I hope the example penetrates deep.

Corn, blueberries, apricots thus far.
Peaches, tomatoes and more on par.
 
Is this really my life? Could this really be true?
Will someone please pinch me, I’m sure once will do.
 
The life of my dreams is now to be had,
I’m really alive, which leaves no room for sad.
 
The Lord has seen fit to bless me with gifts.
May I always be grateful and never throw fits.
 
His hand upon me, I humbly confess,
Is more than I’ve ever dreamt I’d be blessed.

My Savior, my Jesus, my Lord and my King,
Help me to cherish and not squander these things.

PSALM 146 (NKJV)


“Praise the LORD!
         Praise the LORD, O my soul!
 While I live I will praise the LORD;
         I will sing praises to my God while I have my being.
         
 Do not put your trust in princes,
         Nor in a son of man, in whom there is no help.
 His spirit departs, he returns to his earth;
         In that very day his plans perish.
         
 Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help,
         Whose hope is in the LORD his God,
 Who made heaven and earth,
         The sea, and all that is in them;
         Who keeps truth forever,
 Who executes justice for the oppressed,
         Who gives food to the hungry.
         The LORD gives freedom to the prisoners.
         
 The LORD opens the eyes of the blind;
         The LORD raises those who are bowed down;
         The LORD loves the righteous.
 The LORD watches over the strangers;
         He relieves the fatherless and widow;
         But the way of the wicked He turns upside down.
         
 The LORD shall reign forever-
         Your God, O Zion, to all generations.
         Praise the LORD!”


Preserving the Blessings of the Lord,

Traci

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading For The Beloved at .

meta